Fun. We Are Young.

The first time I heard this song, I got hooked onto its chorus.

Tonight
We are young
So let’s set the world on fire
We can burn brighter than the sun

It was not only musically catchy but the lyrics seemed really inspiring.  It made me want to blaze forth and set alight a bright future for self and others.  Sung not alone, it also made me want to go forth with a bunch of like-minded people.

The rest of the song was catchy too so I took some effort to listen carefully to it so that I could sing along.

But I began to realise that the song was about drugs, booze and physical abuse.

My friends are in the bathroom getting higher than the Empire State

… asking bout a scar, And I know I gave it to you months ago…

So if by the time the bar closes
And you feel like falling down
I’ll carry you home

 

So now I do not know whether to like the song or not.

Leave a Reply

