Serene / 璇贞 – The Power of Names

My dad gave me this name….
Serene:
Calm
Peaceful
Unruffled
Tranquil
Clear
Fair
Undisturbed
Imperturbable
Unperturbed
Composed
Collected
Steady
August

My grandfather gave me this name…
璇:
Beautiful Jade
贞:
Chaste
Faithful
Principles-centred; Stable/Steady/Unchanging

You know… when i was growing up, i didnt like my names. I wanted something mysterious and nice sounding.

Serene sounded like a vocabulary/spelling word u get in a school test

Xuanzhen sounds like a Taoist sect or priest and sounds like “Swensens” when my ang-moh-pai classmate called me.

All that was when I did not know the meanings of those names. When I found out the meanings, I realised that I had unknowlingly lived up to those names!

Hey… my names didn’t quite fit me when I was growing up… but I sure fit into my names later on.

Name your children wisely and watch them live up to those names!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

